

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Inc.

La Crosse Area Chapter

2004-2005 Officers:

President

William Fox, Ph.D. Trane 3600 Pammel Creek Road La Crosse, WI 54601 PH (608) 787-2460 FAX (608) 787-2669

President-Elect

Lane Liudahl Trane 3600 Pammel Creek Road La Crosse, WI 54601 PH (608) 787-4350 FAX (608) 787-2669

Treasurer

Dwayne Johnson Trane 3600 Pammel Creek Road La Crosse, WI 54601 PH (608) 787-3385 FAX (608) 787-2669

Secretary

Tom Gorman Trane 3600 Pammel Creek Road La Crosse, WI 54601 PH (608) 787-2336 FAX (608) 787-2204

Board of Governors

Rick Heiden Trane 3600 Pammel Creek Road La Crosse, WI 54601 PH (608) 787-3793 FAX (608) 787-3204

Mike Clatworthy Multistack 365 South Oak Street West Salem, WI 54669 PH (608) 786-3400 FAX (608) 786-3450

Ryan Geister Trane 3600 Pammel Creek Road La Crosse, WI 54601 PH (608) 787-3881 FAX (608) 787-2204 March 22, 2006

William A. Murray P.E. Ret. Fellow ASHRAE Region VI Historian

Dear Mr. Murray,

I am enclosing the La Crosse Area Chapter's 24th entry for the Gold Ribbon and Lou Flagg Award. The La Crosse Area Chapter, 115, is pleased to submit the history of a Chapter. That Chapter is the La Crosse Area ASHRAE Chapter.

There have been two past ASHRAE society presidents from the La Crosse Chapter.

Neil Patterson, 1993-1994 Lee Burgett, 2005-2006

Neil Patterson was a charter member of the La Crosse Area Chapter and has since moved to Cincinnati. Lee Burgett is currently a fellow/life member of the La Crosse Area Chapter.

Thank you.

James M. Ritter, P.E. Chapter Historian

James Marter

La Crosse Area Chapter

ASHRAE History of La Crosse Area Chapter By Jim Ritter, Chapter Historian

The La Crosse Area Chapter of ASHRAE is celebrating its 35th anniversary in 2006. The capsule of time that has passed since the Chapter was chartered on August 22, 1971 has been challenging and intriguing. The field of energy has seen many dramatic and dynamic changes since the pre-energy crisis era up to the record-breaking energy prices and shortages we experience today. The entire concept of energy has been thoroughly studied in the disciplines of energy use, water, conservation, alternative sources, environmental applications and control so that is has become a premier parameter for ASHRAE.

The La Crosse Area Chapter of ASHRAE was profoundly involved in the development and application of numerous systems and equipment to utilize energy in the most economical and environmentally acceptable practices.

Since our first entry for "History of the Chapter" in 1983 and again in 1987, 1991, 1994, 1998, 2002, 2003 and last year in 2005, the La Crosse Area Chapter has achieved many honors.

The chapter has had a number of distinguished members. Neil R. Patterson, P.E., was named a "Fellow of the Society" in 1984. He is continually active in ASHRAE on the national level and was President of ASHRAE in 1993-1994.

Fellow Lee Burgett was installed as the President of the society at the annual meeting in June 2005.

Other members named to the rank of Fellow and the year they attained it: William J. Landman, P.E. (1988), Clarence L. Ringquist (1975), Floyd C. Hayes (1992), Carl Speich (1993) and Lee Burgett (1999).

James M. Ritter, P.E., was Region VI historian from 1989-1992. Jim was awarded the 2003 and 2005 Lou Flagg Historical Gold Ribbon Awards, upon recommendation of the Historical Committee, and approved by both the Honors and Awards committee and the ASHRAE Board of Directors. The award recognizes the most outstanding history on projects or persons related to HVAC&R. He was recognized for his work <u>Reuben N. Trane, History of a Person</u> in 2003 and <u>The Trane Company</u> in 2005.

Reuben N. Trane was inducted into the ASHRAE Hall of Fame in 1997 at the ASHRAE Annual Meeting in Boston. The award honors deceased members who have made milestone contributions to the growth of ASHRAE-related technologies. An article Reuben Trane's accomplishments was published in the June 1997 edition of ASHRAE Insights.

Recognition of Past Presidents

The La Crosse Area ASHRAE Chapter continues to be a viable organization with outstanding interest and participation. This success would not have happened were it not for the dedication of outstanding leaders who contributed their time and effort to make this chapter a model ro the rest of the Society.

1971-72	Hugh A. Boschert
1972-73	Neil R. Patterson
1973-74	James M. Ritter
1974-75	Thomas W. Mulrine
1975-76	Donald N. Kirby
1976-77	William J. Landman
1977-78	Eugene K. Edwards
1978-79	G. Allan Gaboric
1979-80	Ken J. Schomberg
1980-81	James R. Miles
1981-82	Phillip A. Dockendorf
1982-83	Arthur D. Hallstrom
1983-84	John F. Klouda
1984-85	Kim Olson
1985-86	James N. Wagner
1986-87	Paul W. Ehrlich
1987-88	Dennis A. Stanke
1988-89	Duane L. Lom
1989-90	John B. Heck
1990-91	James M. Porter
1991-92	Stephen M. Fedie
	Donald M
1992-93	Eppelheimer
1993-94	Gerhard W. Pierce

1994-95	Bruce E. Anderson
1995-96	Forrest K. Moe
1996-97	Kevin R. Schnack
1997-98	Thomas A. Ley
1998-99	Mark Halderson
1999-0	Mike Byars
2000-1	Eugene McNurlen
2001-2	Wane Baker
2002-3	Brian Reynolds
2003-4	Susanna Hanson
2004-5	Edward Swan

Respectfully submitted,

James M. Ritter, P.E. Chapter Historian La Crosse Area Chapter

James Marter